Learning / Reflections

How to Get Rid of Blogging Burnout

Blogging Burnout

This is a LONG DELAYED post on my reflections from a workshop I attended with Martine de Luna last September 2014 on Blissful Blogging : How to Get Rid of  Blogging Burnout”.

Workshop

I’ve been blogging since late 2013 and I must say I was a little bit surprised that I am actually still blogging (not as often as I had hoped, but I am still at it). I decided to attended the workshop not so much because I was burned out already but it was getting to be a struggle to blog.
My Struggles
At that time, it was getting to the point that I was dreading weekends because I was either feeling guilty for not having a new blog post or stressed because I have not yet taken a photo of my latest creation. I decided to sign up because blogging is important to me. Blogging is my way to share my art to encourage others to keep creating.

After the workshop, a Skype session with Martine and several more weeks following through, let me share what I’ve learned so far:
Lessons Learned
  1. Revisit your process (Martine had several tips but at the end of the day, you have to find what works for you. In my case, these worked for me)
    1. Always be ready: Make lists, maximize Evernote (one of my favorite app ever!)
    2. Incorporate my BLOG to-do’s in daily to-do’s
    3. Organize blog-related activities like I do at work (Duh! How did I NOT know that?!!)
  2. Keep it simple
    1. I don’t need to have a long essay for every blog post
    2. More pictures + fewer words = 1 blog post
  3. Break it up
    1. If there are several stories in a creative activity, I can have more than one blog post
  4. Accept and work with the GIVENS, don’t use them as excuses
    1. I will always be busy at work and at home
    2. I am not a great writer. So what?
    3. I’m not the best photographer but I can improve (but I do need to practice and learn)
  5. Ask for help
    1. I attended a workshop
    2. As a follow-up, I am working with a consultant to help keep me on track
    3. I have a tribe / support group to keep me going

Do you have your own struggles? What else can you share to keep going?

7 thoughts on “How to Get Rid of Blogging Burnout

Leave a Reply

