Art Playdates / MY ART STUFF

2014 November Art Playdate: What I Bring to an Art Playdate

A few days ago, I shared with you our most recent Art Playdate with my Art Friends. Today, I’d like to share with you what I actually bring to a playdate.

If you’ve seen some of my other posts, you probably guessed correctly that I’m a hoarder collector of art stuff (and many other kinds of stuff). One of the things I love about our playdates is our show and tell. I am fortunate that my job allows me to travel often enough to Singapore and other nearby Asian countries and I get to check out their art / craft stores where  I end up buying stuff I don’t typically see here in the Philippines.

Since I often have something new for show and tell, I also have the biggest bag every playdate. Yes, that’s a trolley bag (standard computer bag with wheels, usually used as a handcarried item for travelling). Nope, I no longer use this for travel nor for the office. This is now my go to Art Playdate bag.

My Art Playdate Trolley

My Art Playdate Trolley

Last Saturday, I did bring my notebook PC because there were some files I was willing to share, except that I forgot to tell the others to bring thumb drives. Ooops…

Just a quick listing of my collection for the day:

  1. Pens and pencils – combination of Sharpies, Uni, Pilots. Most of my pens I bought in National Bookstore in the Philippines;
  2. Koh-I-Noor Watercolor Wheel (24 color set and 12 color set) – these are my new favorites now. I wrote more about this watercolor in a previous post;
  3. Waterbrushes – Honestly, I don’t remember what brands these are anymore. I bought most of my waterbrushes in Singapore (Art Friend) but I’ve also seen waterbrushes in National Bookstore (if you’re lucky), Lasting Impression, Artmedia Trading and Craft Carrot
Some of my pens and paints

Some of my pens and paints

4.  Some calligraphy stuff – I didn’t bring my nibs, ink nor nib holders anymore but I did bring my favorite Clairfontaine  pad which I use for practicing calligraphy using my dip pen and fountain pen. I bought this pad in Fully Booked. I also photocopied some pages from my book “Modern Calligraphy: Everything You Need to Get Started in Script Calligraphy” by Molly Suber Thorpe so I didn’t have to bring the book with me. I bought the book in Fully Booked.

5. Black notebook and Finetec Metallic Watercolors – The black notebook I bought either in Art Friends or Kinokuniya in SG. The Finetec metallic watercolors, I ordered from Swirls and Strokes PH. I used the watercolors on my nib for writing on the black page.

Calligraphy Paper and Inspiration Pages

Calligraphy Paper and Inspiration Pages

Finetec paints on Black Notebook

Finetec paints on Black Notebook

6. New Strathmore sketchbooks / journals  – I’ve been wanting to try Strathmore products and I was so happy to finally find them in Overjoyed Singapore. I’ve tried the watercolor journal so far. The others will have to stay in my shelf in the meantime until I’m ready to try them out.

New Journals and Sketchbooks

New Journals and Sketchbooks

 7. Colored Pencils -Another recent purchase from Overjoyed, these Koh-I-Noor Colored Magic Pencils come in a set of 12 pencils + 1 blender. Each pencil has multiple colors. I don’t have an artwork using these pencils yet but I tell you, I’m loving these pencils because of the wonderful colors you get to make.

My new colored pencils

My new colored pencils

8. Art Books – I bought these in Kinokuniya Singapore. I bought “You Can Paint Vibrant Watercolors in Twelve Easy Lessons” by Yuko Nagayama. My sister was able to buy one in Fully Booked. I haven’t done any of the lessons but I already checked it out. This is a good book which teaches not just watercolor but also sketching. I can learn a lot from it but this may not be a good book for beginners as the lessons are a bit advanced.

I also bought a couple of books from the Japanese section so sorry, I have no idea what the titles are. I don’t understand the instructions but the illustrations are detailed enough to follow.

Let me share with you the ISBNs if you wish to check them out:

a) To Travel with Watercolor  – This is the English title from my ISBN search. I’m not too sure on the accuracy though because this looks like a Japanese book (the search says its a Chinese book) and it doesn’t seem to be a travel book. Here’s the ISBN 978-986-6107-48-1. I tried to do a search via ISBN on the Kinokuniya SG site but I was unsuccessful.

b) Ai Shang Gang Zhu Bi Ke Ai Cai Hui2 :3 Fen Zhong Kuai Le Qing Su Xie by Wo Na Ba Yang Zi – It seems like this is a Chinese book as well but at least I was more successful in my ISBN search and I was able to get the author. Here’s the ISBN 978-986-2295-54-0.

New Art Books

 9.  New Art Stuff – I got these during the playdate! My sisters gave me the Winsor & Newton Cotman Water Colours my parents got for me from Belgium. They also gave me tin cans they got from National Bookstore. I will use these for my calligraphy stuff. One of my friends was in Canada recently and got me some Strathmore Mixed Media Cards. Yay!

New Art Stuff

I actually brought a little more stuff but I didn’t get to take them out of my bag anymore. Can’t wait for the next Art Playdate!

 

2 thoughts on “2014 November Art Playdate: What I Bring to an Art Playdate

Leave a Reply

