Reflections / The Gifts of Imperfection / Uncategorized

Healing the Art Scars

art scars_close-up
I am still completing my art journal as part of Oprah’s Life Class, Brené Brown’s The Gifts of Imperfection (Part 2).

On the first week of the e-course, one of the creative assignments was to write down all the negative messages about creativity you have heard in your life, both directly and from society in general (I have a lot of those – not just from loved ones, from society but mostly from myself).

Next step was to cover those negative messages with Band-Aids and write healing messages to ourselves on top of the Band-Aids.

I was able to do so as most of my creative wounds have healed or are in the process of healing.

art scars

I was unable to write a balm for myself with one negative message. And the Band-Aid continues to remain blank.

A  loved one once told me that it would be good for me to take ballet lessons because I was not graceful. That hurt. It still hurts. For people who know me, they know that I don’t dance, I will not dance. I have been reflecting on what it would take for me to finally heal this creative wound.

But it’s time to start healing. In the Life Bliss Weekend I attended last May, a beautiful wonderful lady shared with me the following quote:

hope

Healing creative wounds was not supposed to be part of the weekend (not for me anyway). But in that brief quiet moment when I was shared this quote, there was a sudden burst of enlightenment. I finally realized what I needed towards healing.

band aid

Here’s my art journal page on my first step towards healing.

dancing

I have not yet written my balm on the Band-Aid, but I will soon. I dance with my kids to their favorite tunes. I don’t need to be graceful to dance.

Leave a Reply

