Creative Projects

Playing with Pens, Brush and Ink

Had a busy week with Boo celebrating his 7th birthday last Tuesday and Bellie celebrating her 2nd birthday last Friday. Birthday parties were last Friday in school and Saturday for family and friends.

I didn’t think I would have the opportunity for a post this week but I just needed the creative outlet. Decided to play with some of the new toys I bought the other weekend but never got to use until now.

Took out my practice notebooks for calligraphy – graphing notebook which I bought in Kinokuniya and a small drawing notebook from Saizen, Market Market.

practice notebooks

I bought a Sailor Calligraphy brush pen from Scribe, SM Aura. I wasn’t particularly in love with the design but this was the only one they had available.

Brush PenHere’s a sample of my practice calligraphy using the brush pen. I’m still not getting what I want but then I obviously need to practice.

practice brush 1I decided to try out the brush pen on a 3″ x 5″ index card which originally had one of the kids’ doodles, painted over with white gesso paint then with acrylic paints.

createdDecided I wanted to try the chinese paintbrushes I bought in National Bookstore. I don’t think I’m going to get to use these much. Very cheap but also very flimsy.

Chinese brushes

I liked what I was able to make so far though.

created_whiteI decided to try out my nibs again with my blue and silver inks – on practice notebooks and more index cards.

blue inkbloom dreamsamazing creativityI had fun! Want to play again soon!

P.S. By the way, got the quotes from Pinterest. 

2 thoughts on “Playing with Pens, Brush and Ink

Leave a Reply

