Reflections

Words, Mantras and Intentions Part 2

This is a continuation of an earlier post. (https://bananabellieboo.wordpress.com/2014/01/18/words-mantras-and-intentions-part-1/)

My One Little Word (OLW) for 2014 is STEWARDSHIP.

Unlike my other mantras  / words in previous years , this word came to me a few months at the height of the PDAF scandal. This word was used by Cardinal Tagle to remind not only politicians but all of us children of God that our blessings – our possessions, our talent and time are God’s gifts to us. We should not take these for granted nor abuse these gifts.

There are responsibilities that come with these blessings – developing our talents, sharing our talents, living generously, living simply, take care of ourselves and taking care of others.

The challenge to stewardship came upon the realization that I have focused a lot on discovering and developing my talents but there are also so many areas in my life that also need nurturing – my self (my health) and my material possessions.

2014 stewardship

Why One Little Word?

I am already (almost finished) with Susannah Conway’s “Unravelling the Year Ahead” workbook. As the word suggests, I wanted to LIVE my word throughout the year and not just come back to it whenever I feel like it (if at all). I needed the commit to a regular review of my word.  It took me several weeks to decide but last weekend, I finally decided to sign up for Ali Edwards’ “One Little Word” ecourse (http://aliedwards.com/shop/one-little-word-2014) . Ali has run the program for several years already but this time, I made the commitment.

I’m not using scrapbook format as recommended in the course. I have an art journal instead (to also incorporate my “Unravelling the Year Ahead” workbook, particularly the reflections for unravelling the year behind).

Here are some of the pages for January’s OLW:

pages 1

definition

Why I chose the word

quote

Hope to share more of my art journal pages with you throughout the year!

Leave a Reply

