Creative Projects

Bananabellieboo’s Project Life 2013

cover page 1

I have been scrapbooking for several years now. Scrapbooking helps me to express myself creatively and and at the same time document our wonderful memories. The kids just love to pore over the pictures together. Ohhh… those moments are a lot more fun than looking at pictures in Facebook!

Despite my simple style in scrapbooking however, with three kids and other interests, it is quite difficult to keep up.

I was on maternity leave with my youngest when I stumbled upon Becky Higgin’s Project Life (http://www.beckyhiggins.com/products/what-is-project-life.php). It is to me, such a liberating approach to scrapbooking – simple and easy. For most, Project Life allows one to document the year with a page(s) per week. In my case, I try to document our activities, some quotes from the kids, some letters to the kids, prayers or intentions.

Despite the availability of so many wonderful and beautiful kits however, I have managed to restrain myself from buying Project Life kits and just buy the album and pocket pages instead.  I have the following challenges for myself: (1) use what I have; (2) make my own journaling cards; and (3) involve the kids in the process. I know… I know… I’m making it more difficult for myself, but I do need the creative outlet and this is one of them.

I finally started on my Project Life 2013 about ten months too late. I’m probably going to finish this by mid-next year, but that’s ok. I have the pictures (files, not yet printed) organized per week and my notes of the significant events in my Evernote (one of my favorite apps). I’m sharing with you some of the pages I’ve finished. Hope you are inspired to scrapbook yourself!

My dedication page – a letter to the kids of why I scrapbook. This is my gift to our family.

dedication

Some journal cards I made (using scrapbook paper, index cards, watercolor paints and pens). Ooops… saw a misspelled word there. 

calendar journal card sample 1 journal card sample 2

Some of my son’s doodles on some of the pages.

kuya's journal card 1

kuya's journal card 2

Some completed pages:

sample page 1

sample page 2

2 thoughts on “Bananabellieboo’s Project Life 2013

    • Hi Van!

      Sorry for delayed reply. Yes Van! Doing Project Life is definitely doable. There’s a bit of investment on the album, page protectors and the kit but its a lifetime of documented memories, a gift to yourself and your family.

      Dette

Leave a Reply

