Learning

Watercolor Class (Again!)

I had my last art class session early 2009. At that time, I was already in advanced class, meaning, it was more of painting on my own with minimal supervision from Teacher Beth (my art teacher). At that time, I also just had my solo art exhibit a few months before.

Last September, I attended a basic watercolor class conducted by Alessa Lanot of Life After Breakfast blog (http://www.lifeafterbreakfast.com/) I needed the refresher, especially I had not been painting regularly for a while. I was eager to learn something new. More importantly, I was excited because it was the first time I was going to a watercolor class with my two sisters and my six-year old son. (Boo in Bananabellieboo)

My elder sister and I were two of the more senior students in class, most were young ladies either still in college or a barely a few years into their work life.

My son was the youngest and the only male at that!

exhibit

Boo’s Experience

Boo was very quiet the entire class. I guess he felt a little out of place in the company of so many women. He refused to reply to any gentle question or teasing from the other ladies on how he was doing. (He uttered a total of two words the entire three-hour session) Despite his silence, he did enjoy himself! He sat through the entire session diligently following the instructions.

Lance' Work

Lance Final

My Experience:

I learned a lot! It was really back-to-basics for me. Come to think of it, I never really knew the different ways of holding the brush nor the different types of strokes were. It’s either I wasn’t taught or I wasn’t paying attention at the time (most probably the latter).

I am a little embarrassed to share my work because I can definitely do better than this but I do have to be honest. These were my outputs during the class.

Dette 1

Dette 2

dette 3I loved rediscovering something I knew, I loved learning something new and I loved sharing the experience with my sisters and my son!

Leave a Reply

