Reflections

Welcome to Bananabellieboo!

welcome

The Bananabellieboo is a collection of some of my creative works (combination of perhaps good and bad).

The name Bananabellieboo is the combination of my pet names for our three kids. Like our children, my works of art are not my own but gifts from God. I have been greatly privileged to bear our children, just as I am privileged to be the vehicle for God’s beauty through my art.

Quote from Stephen Pressfield, The War of Art – “The artist and the mother are vehicles, not originators. They don’t create the new life, they only bear it. This is why birth is such a humbling experience. The new mom weeps in awe at the little miracle in her arms. She knows it came out of her but not from her, through her but not of her.”

I find my inspiration in the works of others. A few years ago, magazines are my sources of inspiration. Recently, Pinterest has been my best friend. From time to time though, in moments of reflection or prayer I “see” pictures in my head.

Just recently, I went on a business trip to Colombo, Sri Lanka. We arrived on midnight, had 2 straight days of meetings, through lunch and dinner. And yet, I found myself overflowing with “pictures in my head”. I found inspiration in the most unusual places – my hotel room’s curtains, coasters, bed spread and even toiletry freebies. I was inspired by the colors and patterns in the restaurants we went to. Here are some of my paintings (so far) from my trip to Sri Lanka.

sl 1 sl 2

 

Leave a Reply

